Follow Us

Struggles and Resistance

A Global Green New Deal: Fixing our broken food systems.

How Food Sovereignty is building justice-based alternatives. A webinar. 

27 July – 10:30AM (London/Casablanca)11:30AM (Rome)/ 15:30PM (Dhaka)/ 15:00PM (Colombo)
The webinar will be available in English, Sinhala, Bengali and Arabic

The increasing climate and ecological breakdown are devastating the lives and livelihoods of millions of people. Tweaking the existing system will not work, we must move rapidly away from systems of limitless extraction and exploitation, towards those of care and repair.  We must enact a Global Green New Deal that fundamentally changes the global economy.  

What we eat, and how we produce food for the world’s population is an essential question in this transition. The current industrial food system is responsible for close to a third of Global Greenhouse emissions, and contributes to deforestation, land degradation, and water loss. Industrial agriculture displaces people from their lands, feeds corporate profits instead of people, increases poverty and human rights violations. 

According to the UN’s State of Food Security and Nutrition in the World 2021 report, one in three people in the world did not have access to adequate food in 2020 – thats 2.37 billion people. Yet there is enough food available to feed the planet one and half times over. That is why Food Sovereignty is a key pillar of the Global Green New Deal. 

Only by working with small scale farmers, fishers and agricultural workers, can we create a just food system based on food sovereignty, to end hunger and minimise climate impacts. Food Sovereignty is an important framework that has been carried forward by movements around the world for the last 25 years. 

Join us, and our Global South partners who are already building these alternatives, to discuss what a just and sustainable global food system looks like. 

This event is part of the Peoples’ Counter-Mobilisation to transform corporate food systems that is taking place between 25th and 27th July 2021. Full program here. 

Related posts
Struggles and Resistance

People's Autonomous Response to the UN Food Systems Summit

Neoliberal schemesStruggles and Resistance

The Struggle for Africa’s Food Sovereignty

FarmersFood, water and landStruggles and Resistance

After Protests by Cattle Farmers & Food Sovereignty Activists, State Announces New Price Controls

Food, water and landReleasesStruggles and Resistance

Let’s strengthen Food Sovereignty: Produce, Buy and Eat local products

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *